User config



[Neoclassical] Michael Hoppe & Martin Tillman - The Poet - Romances For Cello (1997) [APE]

Posted by TUE on Feb 28, 2011 with 4 Comments
Michael Hoppe & Martin Tillman - The Poet - Romances For Cello (1997)
| APE+CUE | 189MB | Cello, Neoclassical, Instrumental | Spring Hill Music |
This multi-media album mixes music with poetry and classic photographic portraits of the poets. The connection comes through composer Michael Hoppe, who had recently rediscovered the 5,000 image collection of his grandfather, famed portrait photographer E.O. Hoppe (1878-1972).

Each of the eleven pieces for solo cello (performed by Swiss cellist Martin Tillman) was inspired by a separate poem; the liner notes match poem to portrait. Hoppe’s compositions are classically romantic, the essence of a Schumann or Brahms, but without their churning storminess.
Although the cello has a wide range, and can even growl when the occasion warrants, Hoppe does not lead the cello to those non-sonorous places; when people say they love the cello, it is this voice, this range, this romance, this timbre that they love.

Most romantic concertos have dramatic and bombastic sections, a test of dexterity to be sure, but most listeners really cherish the tender passages of redemption, love, or purity. The orch…estra hushes and the cello cries tender tears. Hoppe offers a whole album of just those moments. Tillman plays with extreme warmth and sensitivity; Hoppe’s piano and string chamber ensemble arrangements on the keyboard present the cello like the a blue robin’s egg in the nest. Hoppe says that the pieces were fully rehearsed and played live in the studio, all the way through with no overdubbing; the album has that immediacy and integrity.

01. Some Other Time (For Carl Sandburg)
02. Moon Ghosts (For Aldous Huxley)
03. Diamonds Of Rain (For Edward Thomas)
04. Flight (For Robert Frost)
05. Renouncement (For Alice Meynell)
06. Hidden In The Heart (For Sara Teasdale)
07. Riddles (For Hilaire Belloc)
08. Prayer (For Kahil Gibran)
09. Changes (For A. E. Housman)
10. Gold Leaves (For G. K. Chesterton)
11. Shadows (For Walter De La Mare)

Buy The Original CD From Amazon
CM | BD | MG | Demo | Password: vnltue

© I am currently in the process of removing links from my website and will upload new links when I have some free time. There's a large number of links on my website, so it's not possible to remove them all at once, especially considering my busy schedule with daily tasks!

In fact, the MF/CM/BD/MG links are still active, but they are hidden within ADF links, and the ADF links have been sold to Linkvertise. Normally, when you click on an ADF link, it redirects to Linkvertise, which contains numerous annoying advertisements. I don't want you to feel uncomfortable with that, so I've set up ADF to automatically redirect to my notification page. For any links where I have removed ADF, they will not redirect to this notification page.

The download links will be redirected to the page "redirect.html" with URL encoding, and this redirect page contains my advertisements. Thank you for reading and listening!
© All my music resources are for promotional purposes and trial only. Please do not write these links at any web pages! I do not encourage the distribution/piracy of illegal music whatsoever. All of the provided content are copyrights to the rightfully holders. If you enjoy the CDs posted, please BUY ORIGINAL CD to support the artists!
Tools - MusicScope - Spek - CUETools - WinRAR - XRECODE

  1. Hello my friend. I write you from Argentina. Links are dead. Is there any possibility to upload them again? Thank you very much for all the beautiful music!

    1. Re-uploaded for "Michael Hoppe & Martin Tillman - The Poet - Romances For Cello (1997) [APE]".

      You need to upgrade WinRAR with latest version (v5.5) before decompress::

  2. Thank you very much, my friend! Here, we can find the most beautiful music of the world. Greetings from Argentina!